Over the past ten years, the standard of trauma treatment has gone through great change. What used to be considered “trauma treatment” is now called trauma processing.  Therapist and client often launched into trauma processing without fully preparing the client to deal with complex emotional difficulties that arise during the processing.  This often contributed to therapy not reaching the resolution of trauma symptoms, or premature withdrawal from therapy when symptoms were at their worst. 

As indicated in the International Society of Trauma Stress Studies (ISTSS) practice guidelines, a “Phase-based" Trauma Treatment approach is the accepted standard for more successful trauma treatment.

Phase I - Stabilization

The client will acquire knowledge and skills necessary for trauma processing. Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) skills training is one accepted modality for the Stabilization phase, as it offers a broad spectrum of skills necessary for trauma treatment.

For clients who exhibit more distinct symptoms of complex trauma we offer a Trauma Specific program, which includes general knowledge on trauma and how treatment works, mindfulness skills, skills to tolerate and regulate emotions.

Clients will be recommended to participate in:

  • Standard DBT Skills Group (24 weeks)

Phase II-Trauma Processing

Clients will process the trauma memories directly using modalities best suited for him/her and the types of trauma.  We currently offer the following:

  • Standard Prolonged Exposure (PE)
  • DBT Prolonged Exposure (PE)
  • Accelerated Resolution Therapy (ART)
  • Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR).

Phase III-Consolidation

Clients will adjust to “the life after trauma processing” working on how they incorporate their learning into their life.  Clients may choose to work with a primary therapist individually and/or participate in the following groups:

  • Interpersonal Group
  • Advanced DBT Group